Weekly Challenge: Just Give Me an Hour

Good Monday morning!

Hope you all had a great weekend! Ours here was beautiful. I enjoyed a productive Friday and Saturday (in the garden which I enjoy), and a restful Sunday. Got a nice nap. 🙂

Today, I’d like you challenge you to give me one hour of your time every day this week. Just one hour. And not all at one time even. Four 15-minute snippets of time to do as I say. Haha! Just kidding. But seriously, I do want four 15-minute snippets of your days this week. Not for me, though; I want them for you. And here’s what I’d like you to do with that hour.

NOTE: Items #1 and #2 may require you to get up 30 minutes earlier than usual. They do for me. Just go to bed 30 minutes earlier. It all evens out. And the first two things especially will make your day run so much more smoothly!

1. When you first get up, spend 15 minutes of quiet time with God. Take your cup or coffee or tea, grab your Bible, and spend 15 minutes alone with Him. As I said, this may mean getting up a little earlier, but it’s so worth it! It’s the best way to start your day. The. Best.

2. For the second 15-minute bit of time, prep anything you can for dinner. Do the “front-end” work: put meat into the fridge to defrost; load up the crock pot; brown some ground beef. Just take a look at your menu plan and spend 15 minutes getting a head start on dinner. This really does help. (I’m going to share my weekly menu plans over the next few weeks in case you haven’t gotten a “handle” on that just yet.)

3. The next 15 minutes can be done any time throughout the day and will vary depending on your schedule, work, etc. In any case, spend 15 minutes decluttering or straightening some area of your house. You can pick a room for the week, then spend 15 minutes each day on that room. For example, in the kitchen you might do the following: Monday – clean out fridge & toss old leftovers; Tuesday – sweep or vacuum and mop; Wednesday – declutter the “junk” drawer (Mysteriously, this seems to need to be done every week.); Thursday – clean the counter tops (like, really clean them); Friday – use a disinfecting wipe to clean all the handles and knobs in the kitchen including the cabinets and appliances. Whichever room you pick, write a list of five things that can be done in 15 minutes or less and make yourself a list for the week. Do one each day.

4. Finally – but second in importance – spend 15 minutes by yourself. A bubble bath. A cup of coffee on the porch. Doesn’t really matter. Just 15 minutes to breathe, relax your shoulders (I immediately did that when I wrote the word “relax” so I thought I should include it.). Close your eyes. (I did that, too. Makes it hard to type.) This is another one of those things that is worth getting up early for. Just in case you wondered – though you probably didn’t – I am done with homeschooling and my kids are both in college from 8-12 every day so this is easier for me now. When we were schooling, my time was 2:00. I stopped school then and had my cup of coffee – outside if at all possible. I pretty much still stick to that time out of habit. When I was a full-time working mom with little ones, it usually involved a long shower after they were in bed. DO NOT FEEL BAD ABOUT TAKING TIME FOR YOURSELF. DO. NOT.

And don’t neglect your hubby. He needs some of your time every day as well. Whether that’s 15 minutes or an hour or more, that’s between you two. But talk about it and work it out. It’s important. When your kids are little and you’re working, it’s hard. But make sure you do it. The kids will grow up. Don’t grow apart while they’re doing that. Make time for each other every day.

I know it may seem like I’m asking a lot. But if you took an hour away from media (email, texting, Facebook, television, etc.), you could do all of the above and not miss a thing.

Blessings,

Lynne

Leave a Reply

