Spring Cleaning Challenge: Week 2

Good Monday morning!

I hope you had a great weekend! I certainly did! The weather was wonderful and I got to mark something off of my goal list as well as my “I Want to Do That Some Day” list. 🙂

I am traveling to Hilton Head Island today for a few days away with the family. It’s our spring break and it looks like the weather is going to be great! I did have to do some laundry on Sunday afternoon, but it was for a worthy cause so I didn’t mind. I won’t be home to do a challenge this week, though I might tackle mine this weekend instead. It will probably not involve cleaning; instead, we will finish getting our garden in.

This week’s challenge is largely up to you. If you look back to January and February, we had several weekly challenges. Some of you took every one. Some of you took one or two. If you took every one of them, my challenge to you this week is to revisit them and see if you need to go back and do some more simplifying and cleaning out. Maybe you just need to give a particular room another good cleaning. It’s not hard to let things go back to their original state of clutter and disorganization. Not hard at all. So if that’s you, hit the room again this week. Make another list. Check it twice. Spend your 15 – 30 minutes on it daily (Monday – Friday) this week and get it back in order. When you realize how much work you had to do – AGAIN – you might find yourself more inclined to do weekly maintenance instead. It’s a whole lot easier. I speak from experience. Here are the links to the  room challenges we’ve done so far.

https://lifedoesnthavetobethisway.wordpress.com/2013/01/14/household-chores-everyone-get-excited/ (kitchen challenge)

https://lifedoesnthavetobethisway.wordpress.com/category/living-room-challenge/

https://lifedoesnthavetobethisway.wordpress.com/2013/02/11/the-kids-room-challenge/

https://lifedoesnthavetobethisway.wordpress.com/2013/01/28/the-master-bedroom-challenge/

https://lifedoesnthavetobethisway.wordpress.com/2013/02/04/the-bathroom-challenge/

https://lifedoesnthavetobethisway.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/the-pantry-project/

Maybe you have fallen behind on your laundry and the laundry monster is lurking in the background. Maybe he’s moved right back in and taken control of your life. If  that’s the case, you need to determine now to give him the boot for good this week. Reread the laundry challenge here:

https://lifedoesnthavetobethisway.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/the-pantry-project/

Is  your mail piling up again? Here’s the link to the post on tackling that job.

https://lifedoesnthavetobethisway.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/stop-the-mail-madness/

Do you need to work on your menu planning? Here are a couple of posts on that.

https://lifedoesnthavetobethisway.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/menu-planning-101/

https://lifedoesnthavetobethisway.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/tips-for-easy-menu-planning/

Maybe you are still putting off trying to get healthier and get in more exercise. Here is my original post about exercise. I have to tell you that when I crossed that 10K finish line on Saturday, I felt so elated to have met that particular exercise goal. I am feeling better physically, but I’m also feeling better about myself. So I really, really encourage you to give this one a try. You can do it along with another challenge, or you can look forward to it (yes, look forward to it) when you get your house in order. Believe me, it’s an amazing feeling!

https://lifedoesnthavetobethisway.wordpress.com/2013/03/04/weekly-challenge-exercise-oh-joy/

If you have yet to take a challenge, choose one from the list above and get to work. And, please, tell me why you haven’t taken one yet. I’m nosy. I mean curious. Spring is the perfect time for new beginnings, so I really do hope you’ll take a deep breath and pick a challenge project. If you are completely overwhelmed and don’t know where to start, write each of them on a slip of paper and put them in a bowl and draw one out. And that’s where you start. It all starts with a choice and a step in the right direction! One tiny step. You can do it! I know you can!

We didn’t get disorganized, cluttered and overwhelmed overnight. We can’t get organized, de-cluttered, and un-overwhelmed (surely not a real word) overnight, either. We have to work for it. I have to work on it every day. Some days I do better than others with housekeeping, exercising, healthy eating. On days when I don’t do so well, I feel it mentally and physically. Just weighed down. I want you to feel the good stuff. The joy that you get when you complete a task – even if it’s something someone else would consider “minor.” No step that you take towards improving your life is minor. Not one.

Remember that you only have to do a little bit each day and you’ll begin to notice the difference. I promise. And please. Don’t forget to take “before” and “after” pictures. Even if you don’t share them with us, you’ll have them for yourself so that you can see what you’ve done. A picture is worth a thousand words, after all. And pictures are proof that things have change. So get out your camera or your phone and start clicking.

Have a blessed week! I’ll think about you while I have my toes in the sand. 🙂

Lynne

One thought on “Spring Cleaning Challenge: Week 2

Leave a Reply

