Summer Catch-up Challenge #2

Good Monday morning!

I can say that because I’m actually writing this on Sunday afternoon. Not Monday morning. Monday mornings have a bad reputation, not entirely undeserved. 🙂 But it’s a new day, a new week…another chance to get moving toward our simplifying goals. So, yes, a good Monday morning it is!

Always keep in mind that it’s those little changes, done over and over until they are little habits (good habits!) that can really make a difference in our day-to-day lives. Now there are times when we need to make a big old change and those are tough! But the little ones aren’t so bad. And it’s much less overwhelming to do one or two little things at a time than one BIG one. At least for me. Sometimes we have to bite the bullet and tackle the big stuff and just get it out of the way. And be done. Period. And if you have one of those projects staring you in the face, well then, just do it. Get it over with. (I have one that involves painting. Thus, I am procrastinating. Don’t be like me.)

Here are this week’s daily challenges. Little things to help us get caught up where we might have fallen behind. Little things that we CAN accomplish. Give yourself a gold star! Treat yourself to ice cream. I’m thinking a manicure is in my future if I can get through this week feeling successful and accomplished. All of these challenges have likely been addressed before as part of a longer post involving a bigger challenge. If you need to look back on the “big” project challenges, you should be able to find them on the blog (or under “Notes” on the Facebook page).  So here we go.

Oh, and remember to do a load of laundry per day so you don’t have to spend the weekend doing that un-fun task. 🙂

Monday: Menu planning day. (This one will repeat every week. It’s that important.)

Make a menu plan for your week. Plan dinners at least. If you don’t want to plan too specifically, plan and shop for 4-5 meals and then decide which one you want to fix when you get up in the morning. If you can do something ahead of time – as in before you actually start cooking dinner – do it. For example, if you’re planning tacos on Thursday night, you can brown hamburger meat on the day you grocery shop or on Wednesday night or Thursday morning. That saves about 20 minutes when you get down to the nitty-gritty of the cooking in the evening. Pre-chop veggies. Pre-assemble casseroles. Anything to take the stress off during the dinner hour.

Tuesday: Tackle the mail.

If you’ve been letting your mail pile up, set aside 30 minutes or so to get it back under control. (There is a post dedicated to conquering the mail.) Shred the junk mail. Put your bills in order. (I like to put the bills in their envelopes – even if I pay them online – and put the due date in the top right-hand corner where the stamp goes. Then I put them in order by due date and put them in the mail holder. Bills get paid on Thursdays because that’s pay day, so I check them on Thursday and pay whatever needs to be paid before the next pay day.) Set aside anything that needs a response from you, and then plan to respond – if not today, then definitely by Friday. If something needs to go on your calendar, put it there. Once your mail pile is manageable, spend five minutes every day keeping it that way. When you walk in the door with it, sort and shred as needed. Don’t let it pile up.

Wednesday: Bathroom cleaning day.

Yes, you have to clean them every week. Unless you like mold and mildew. (And general grossness if there are boys in your house.) Cleaning bathrooms is one of those chores that I think I’d pay someone to do if I could. It’s gross. I don’t like it. It has to be done. (Insert heavy sigh here.)

Thursday: Dust and vacuum your living areas.

I constantly try to convince everyone in my family that I shouldn’t dust or vacuum due to my allergies. I guess they’re not buying it. Well, my husband does vacuum pretty frequently, but if left to anyone else in my family, the dust would take over. Completely. It would be inches thick and I’d be sneezing and coughing like nobody’s business. So, alas, I do it.(And I usually take a Benadryl after.) And if you’ve dusted and vacuumed and you have time, you might as well mop. Oh, the sparkle and shine you will be seeing. 🙂

Friday: Walk-Through and Pick Up

Walk through your living areas and pick up stuff that is out of place. I keep baskets handy for both of my (grown) kids. I toss their stuff, including folded laundry, into their baskets and sit them near the bottom of the stairs. Then they can take their own stuff upstairs. So just do a general straightening, fluffing, and touch-up job. Then if unexpected guests show up, you can let them in and not be embarassed, rather than exiting quickly through the back door or pretending you’re not home. Even if all the cars are in the driveway.

Then just enjoy your weekend. Do something fun and get some rest.

That’s it! Doesn’t sound too hard, right? Except maybe Thursday. But that’s just because I don’t like to vacuum and dust. This is an established fact. 🙂

I hope your week is abundantly blessed!

Lynne

Leave a Reply

