Summer Catch-up: Challenge #3

Good Monday morning!

Hope you all had a great weekend! I got to celebrate my great-nephew’s first birthday yesterday and – despite the rain and having to move all those people INSIDE – it went well and it was fun. He’s such a cutie patootie! There were over 30 people in my house eating dinner. My house is NOT large. Talk about togetherness. 🙂 This week I am playing “Teresa” at church while she vacations at the beach. The beach! Obviously, I love her lots and hope she has a great time. (Teresa, I expect a souvenir. Just saying.) 😉

So we are halfway through the summer catch-up challenge. After two weeks, I hope you are getting into the groove of a summer cleaning schedule. That little schedule will help you have lots of time left to enjoy the beauty of summertime. No major projects here. Just a few little things to keep you on track so that at summer’s end you aren’t faced with MOUNTAINS of things to get done before school starts back and it’s back to reality.

So, some of these are repeats from last week because that’s what a schedule is. Certain things for certain days (if at all possible), leaving weekends as free as possible to get out there and enjoy life. Or stay inside where it’s cool and enjoy life. Whichever floats your boat.

Monday: Menu planning day

Now, if Monday isn’t a good day for you to menu plan, do it on the day that works for you. I will say that it’s easier to plan before you go grocery shopping than after. Otherwise, you somehow end up missing one key ingredient. And, if you’re like me, you go back to the store to get that ONE ingredient and somehow spend $50 or more. Happens all the time. It’s a mystery.

Tuesday: Clean the bathrooms.

You know the drill. If I had a cleaning fairy, I’d want her to clean the bathrooms. I do change the hand towels in the bathrooms every other day at least. And when I do that, I wipe down the sink. I usually run a disinfectant wipe over the toilet a couple of times a week, too. But on cleaning day, the bathrooms get “the works.” And then I rest.

Wednesday: Clean the kitchen.

As I tell my kids about their rooms (and laundry and dishes, etc.), “It won’t clean itself.” Sad, but true. I clean my kitchen every day, but once a week, I CLEAN my kitchen. You know what I mean. If there were twin cleaning fairies, one could clean the bathrooms and one could do the kitchen. How awesome would that be?

Thursday: Dust, vacuum, and mop.

I have hardwood floors throughout the house. And four cats. And people with long hair. Did you know that cat fur and human hair meet at the edges of hardwood floors and form clumps of furry/hairy grossness? On a regular basis. I could vacuum every day (but I don’t) and the clumps would be replaced the very next day. So I actually do vacuum every other day. But once a week, I vacuum under the furniture (where dust bunnies live and multiply). Mopping gets done once, sometimes twice, a week. This week, dust your ceiling fans, too, if you have them. No need to be slinging dust around while you’re trying to stay cool.

Friday: Thirty-minute walk-through and pick up.

Before your weekend begins, walk through the house and pick up, put away, and do a general straightening. Fluff the pillows. Return books to shelves. That kind of thing. Just get the house in a general state of order so that you don’t have to spend the weekend cleaning. That doesn’t make for a fun weekend. Remember to get a small basket for each person in  your house. Then they can walk through themselves and pick up their own stuff and return it to where it belongs. Note: If you have teenagers, this may mean that the basket gets put on the floor of their room or everything in the basket gets dumped on the floor. Just get your basket back before it disappears into the mysterious lost space that is a teenager’s room.

And don’t forget to keep doing a load of laundry (or one type or one person’s) every day so that you don’t have to do laundry on Saturday. Unless you just enjoy spending a whole day doing laundry. I personally do not. Keep exercising. I do believe that 30 minutes a day is recommended. (Of course, if you’ve never exercised before, consult your physician. That’s my medical disclaimer.)

Hope you have a terrific week!

Lynne

Leave a Reply

