Thoughts & Confessions

Good morning, all!

As you may or may not know, I have been “playing” Teresa at our church this week working in the office. I love Teresa. I love my church. I told my husband last night that I remembered what I loved about working: nothing. 🙂 Of course, with a little more planning on my part, I definitely would have fared better.

Confession #1: I didn’t plan well. My husband is working nights this week, so he leaves for work at 4:45. He eats dinner before then. I should have planned slow cooker meals all week. And could have done so quite easily. Instead, he’s had to “make do” with leftovers, sandwiches, etc. I mean, I fed him, but still.

Confession #2: I haven’t done Tuesday’s challenge yet and cleaned the bathrooms. I cleaned them Sunday before the birthday party, so they’re not bad. I just haven’t done it. I will definitely need to do the vacuum and mop thing today. We’ve had rain showers/storms every day this week, and my floors are looking less than stellar because of all the wet feet that have tracked across them.

Confession #3: I haven’t put away all the groceries from my shopping trip last night. They are still sitting on the kitchen table. After shopping last night, I put away the cold stuff and sat down and had a cup of coffee. The end.

Confession #4: I left dishes in the sink last night. I loaded the dishwasher and ran it, but there were a couple of pans that didn’t fit. I should have washed them and put them away. I should have. Instead, I laid down to read a book and fell asleep.

I guess what I am trying to say here is that we all have those weeks when things just don’t go quite right. Nothing necessarily life-changing, but tiring nonetheless. And I am apparently quite the creature of habit. And when my daily “to do” list gets interrupted, I don’t adapt as well as I used to. We can chalk it up to old age (yikes!) or laziness (double yikes!), but I don’t know that it’s either. I have just gotten so used to doing things a certain way that when I can’t do them THAT WAY, I get stubborn (confession #5?) and just don’t do them. Period. And I will be the one spending Saturday playing “catch up.” I will be aggravated with myself. But I’ll get it done and be back on track next week.

So, confession #6. I need to work on my flexibility. I need to get it back. I lost it somewhere and that’s no good. Just being honest here. Letting you know that as much as I try, I don’t always have it together and get it all done. None of us can.

I saw this quote on someone’s Facebook post earlier: “Perfection” is just a street sign at the intersection of “Impossible” and “Frustration” in Never Never Land.

Keep that in mind. We aren’t striving for perfection here. If we do, we’ll miss out on the important stuff. We’re just striving for a little structure and a guideline that will keep us away from the dead end street that is probably called “Overwhelmed.”

Y’all have a blessed day. I’m going to go break into Teresa’s chocolate stash. 🙂

Lynne

Leave a Reply

