Thursday – Check-up Day

Hey, everyone!

So how’s your week going? Did you take some time for yourself yesterday? I took a lovely, long nap. It was bliss! 🙂 I think I’ll sleep well tonight on my fresh-from-the-clothesline sheets. I love that smell! So far today, it has been sunny. However, since my husband washed his car, I feel certain that it will rain at some point. I have done my dusting and sweeping. I need to run the mop through the downstairs, but I think I’ll save that until after dinner since I’ll inevitably spill something on the kitchen floor while fixing dinner if I mop now.

I went to the grocery store today and spent $200! Two. Hundred. Dollars. $203.31 to be exact. It’s always such a shock to the system. How the things in the cart came out to be that much money always amazes me. Of course, all of that was not all actually food. Still, I don’t like it. So I’m going to work on a menu plan for the rest of July and try to cook from my stash/stockpile as much as possible. I keep thinking I’ll do it but haven’t gotten around to it. I think now is the time, don’t you?

Are you working from a menu plan this week? If you are, how is it going for you – especially if you’ve not done it before? There is a longer post with an explanation of how to do that. You can find it on the blog. If you’re a Facebook follower, it will be harder to find so I’ll put the link in the “comments” section. Lots of fresh fruits and veggies right now. Take advantage of them and enjoy them in season when they’re so much tastier! We have been eating a lot of vegetables and less meat. I’ve been thinking that menu planning might need to be done over the weekend (Friday or Saturday) rather than on Monday. Then you can get your grocery shopping out of the way over the weekend. So if you haven’t already, make a menu plan before you grocery shop this week. Maybe you won’t spend as much as I did.

Keep plugging along as summer continues. Don’t let yourself get too far behind in your household chores that you start the school year being stressed and frustrated. Putting good habits into practice now can save you a lot of aggravation later. Start thinking about what you want your mornings, afternoons, and evenings to look like after school begins and start working toward that goal now. Get your kids into the habits you want them to have such as choosing clothes the night before, etc. so that they’ll already be used to it and it won’t be too much of a change. Another thing to start thinking about as August lurks around the corner is to stop sleeping in too often. If you do, the shock of the alarm clock on that first day of school will not be pleasant. Besides, if you get up early, you get to nap during the hot part of the day, right?

I hope you have a great evening! I’m going to have my afternoon coffee. Better late than never! 🙂

Blessings,

Lynne

Leave a Reply

