Five Quick Clutter Clearers

Happy Tuesday, everyone!

Today was a big day for me. Big-ish, at least. I started a part-time job at my church working in children’s ministry. It’s exciting and a little scary. I haven’t worked in a lot of years. Of course, homeschooling IS a job – a more than 40-hours-per-week kind of job. So this will be easy-peasy. Right? πŸ™‚

Tuesday is “tips” day, but as I sit here looking around my house, I thought that instead of tips, I’d share five quick clutter clearing things that you can do to declutter your house. They don’t take a whole lot of time. In fact, I’d devote no more than 30 minutes in a day to any of them. If you don’t get the task completed in that time, you can just stop and pick it up the next day. You might not need to do all five. So just pick one or two and devote 15-30 minutes a day until you’re done. If you have one not on the list that you need to do, please share it with us. We can all use ideas of little tasks that can be completed in short spurts of time. I’m not going to go into great detail. These are pretty self-explanatory. I hope.

So, here goes.

1. Clear out your magazine stash.

Save them only if you’re really going to read them again. Otherwise, copy recipes, pull out room ideas, etc. and file them away. Recycle the magazines or donate them to a doctor’s office or hospital. (I am sitting here looking at quite a stash of magazines myself. I’ll be working on this one first.)

2. Clean your ceiling fans.

You only realize how dusty your ceiling fans get when your turn them off. Then, well…it can be quite shocking. Β Take the time to remove the light globes/fixtures and clean them as well. They may need a good washing. Dust or vacuum the fan blades and the whole kit and kaboodle. (My light globes need washing. Just being honest here.)

3. Dust the pictures and decorative things on the wall.

When I dust the living room or bedrooms, I always do tables, bookshelves, dressers, etc. I do not always take the time to dust the picture frames, sconces, etc. that are hanging on the walls. Thus, they get a bit dusty. (True confession: I need to do this, too. I have been neglectful over the summer, I see.)

4. Vacuum behind – and under – the furniture.

Take time in each room to pull out the furniture that rests against the walls, and vacuum behind them. Dust bunnies rule the areas behind bookshelves and dressers. Vacuum under the beds, under the sofa, etc. This is one of my least favorite things to do. But if you leave dust bunnies alone, the multiply rapidly. Very rapidly. This should be done at least once a month, preferably twice.

5. Clear off your kitchen counter tops.

This one has the potential to take the most time in many homes. Counter tops can quickly become hidden under clutter. I’m not really sure why, but it seems to be true. If you have the storage space, store larger kitchen appliances that you don’t use every day (toasters, etc.) somewhere besides the counter top. The exception to the rule should, of course, be the coffee maker. Just saying. πŸ™‚ If you don’t have the storage, just make things as neat as possible. The fewer things on the counter top, the less stressful it is to be in the kitchen.

I hope these small tasks will give you a good start on reducing the clutter around your home. Less clutter = less stress. Now, let me get to those magazines. πŸ™‚

Happy decluttering!

Lynne

Leave a Reply

