Happy Friday, y’all!

Hey, everyone!

Hope you all have had a great week! Back to school can be good or bad, depending on how you look at it. It’s all about perspective, right? On one hand, you have to get the kiddos up and out early in the morning which is NOT usually a fun process. On the other hand, you might actually find yourself with quiet time on your hands.

This has been my second week as a working mom and I’m still adjusting. While my kids are both in college, I still have a household to run and I’ve been a little off kilter the last two weeks. I think I’m getting my bearings back and adjusting life to my new schedule. I think. I’m working on it, anyway. Throw in training for a 5K three nights a week, and it’s been hectic. At least my version of hectic. (And who in their right mind trains for a 5K in August? Who? Please do not answer this question. It is strictly rhetorical.)

So, with school and work and all that those things entail, what adjustments have you had to make this week? As I said, both my children are in college. However, I still have to drive and my daughter two mornings a week (I still don’t love 8:00 a.m. classes after all this time!) and pick her up at noon. Only two more months and she can drive again if her doctor okays it. Two. More. Months. While it’s fewer than six months, it still seems like a long time. It is just enough to cut into your day and mess it all up. (Don’t tell her I said that. I’m glad I can do it.) So part of my adjustment this week has been getting up even a little bit earlier so that I can have my quiet time before she gets up. I’ve stuck to the laundry schedule pretty well. Cleaning is a little behind and I’m working on figuring that new schedule out. I think I’ve got it, but I’m not 100% positive.

I must confess that I have not been a good dinner maker for several weeks now. That is due to the 5K training. I can’t eat before I go run or I’ll get sick. (I did try it one night. Running while nauseous is not the most pleasant thing to do.) Then I get home and I’m too hot and sweaty to eat. By the time I’ve showered and cooled down, it’s too late to eat. So I’ve made my family suffer right along with me by not cooking dinner every night.  If I suffer, why shouldn’t they? 🙂 But I’m working to get that back on track next week as well.

Obviously, next week will be my “trial run” of my new scheduling ideas. I’m sure more adjustments will be needed and I’ll make them as I go along seeing what works and what doesn’t. By the way, I am loving my new job! Who knew? 🙂 I’m also making a list of indoor projects that I want to do – a little something for each room to mix it up a little and freshen things up without spending a lot of money. Pictures will come as projects progress.

Have a GREAT weekend! I hope it isn’t spent doing chores!

Blessings,

Lynne

 

 

Leave a Reply

