Real Food vs. Processed Foods

Good afternoon, all!

How has your Tuesday been? My daughter and I joined my friend Kathryn for a yoga stretch class this morning. This body doesn’t bend quite like it used to, but I did okay. It was better than last week. I came home and took a nap. Just got clothes off the line. I love, love, love this weather!

I’m sitting here perusing Taste of Home magazines and scouring real/whole food websites for new recipes to try. I’m a “from scratch” girl when at all possible. Of course, we all know that it’s not always possible. Time gets away from you and Minute Rice it is. 

I am trying to convince my family that processed foods need to go. Not an easy task. It’s not easy for me either, but – for the most part – convenience foods have left the building. I still have a couple of things of Easy Mac in my pantry, but I don’t eat it. Seriously, why eat that when you could eat REAL macaroni and cheese? It’s beyond me! I think that the hardest thing I could ask them – and me – to do is to give up white sugar. I live in a family of sweet tea drinkers. We are southern, after all. I am down to drinking a small glass with dinner. But the rest of them – well, we go through a gallon a day. At least. I, however, do use white sugar in my coffee. My beloved coffee. Can I give that up? I honestly don’t know. But I’m going to try.

I am doing my best to eliminate other processed foods from our diets. I don’t do sugar-free or fat-free. I don’t do artificial sweeteners. I don’t like fast food really. We don’t eat out very often. For me, the biggest problem is that my husband doesn’t really see the value in doing this. What he does see are dollar signs. He assumes organic or fresh is going to cost more, and often that is true. But if it makes you healthier and you stay well and avoid doctor visits, I feel certain you’ll save money in the end. So it’s an ongoing “battle” at my house. 

Have any of you made the switch to whole/real food? How long did it take? Did you meet with resistance in your household? I’d really like to hear from you!

I just want us to be as healthy as possible. I want to make informed decisions. I don’t want to eat foods full of things I can’t pronounce. I want to expand my garden. i want, I want, I want. 🙂 

Lynne

 

Leave a Reply

