When You Just Don’t Want To __________________.

Beautiful sunset

Beautiful sunset

Happy Monday!

How many times have you said, “I don’t want to _______”? I’ve said it more than once just today! Sometimes when I say it to myself – because I don’t usually say it out loud – inside my head I hear myself in a whiny voice and see myself stomping my feet like a little kid. 🙂 I did say it to myself this afternoon when I didn’t want to run because it was hot. As in, summertime hot and humid. Ugh! But…I ran anyway. And the picture above is what I saw while I was out there running. I would have totally missed that if I had stayed inside where it was nice and cool. How often do we miss out on beautiful, wonderful things because we just don’t want to do something? We miss out on blessings. On friendships. Relationships. Joy. Experiences.Opportunities. Accomplishments. Contentment.

I know I keep relating a lot of things to eating and exercising choices because that’s just where I’m at. I’m at a “certain age” where I’ve come to realize that it’s now or never. The longer I wait to make changes that positively affect my health, the harder it will be to make them. I then I’ll be a gray-haired lady stomping my foot like a four-year-old and yelling, “But I don’t want to!” when my doctor says that I have to exercise and eat better in order to feel better and live longer. I WANT to be healthy. I WANT to feel good. But I do not always WANT to do what it takes to get there. Having the knowledge about what you should do and actually getting motivated to do them are so so  very far apart sometimes. For me, anyway. Replacing a bad habit with a good one can be done.  It’s just not usually fun. And we don’t like to do things that aren’t fun for us. Human nature and all that.

So in my quest to be more healthy and active, I keep trying new things. More exercise. Different exercise. Running…gotta do it every day now. Yoga…love! Cutting out processed foods…research, label reading, planning ahead. So now – and this is all Kathryn’s fault! (and feel free to tell her I said so if you know her) – a 21-day cleanse/detox. Seven things to cut out for twenty days. Three weeks. Psh. Surely I can do that, right? Then…(insert dramatic and dark moody music here) – the list of things to eliminate.

1. Soy

2. Alcohol

3. Corn

4. Dairy/eggs

5. Wheat

6. Peanuts

7. Sugar

And #8 – which is optional – caffeine. As in coffee. Coffee, people! Because I like my coffee with half and half (#4) and sugar (#7), it would be three “no-no’s” in one cup. So do I drink it black (YUCK!) or go without for 21 days? I am (and I reserve the right to change my mind, possibly more than once) opting to do without. I’d rather not have it than have it and it taste yucky to me. Y’all should probably start praying for my family now. It’s entirely possible that I won’t be very nice for the next few days. I’m assured that that will pass. 🙂

Now, my challenge to you this week is not the same as mine. My challenge to you is to do two things. One is food-related; one involves the dreaded “e” word.

1. Make one positive change in your eating habits.

Cut out or reduce your soda intake. Drink more water. Eat fresh fruit every day. Try a new veggie. Try a day that you go meatless. Eliminate one processed food from your diet that you eat regularly. You decide. Just one thing. I know you can do that.

2. Make one positive change in your exercise habits.

If you don’t exercise at all, start. Walk around the block. If you can’t do that, walk half a block. Try a new class – yoga, Pilates. Start gently. Like…don’t start with a kickboxing class if you’ve been a couch potato for a while, I don’t want you to fall out in the gym. (As always, consult your doctor if you need to. Don’t jump in without taking your current health situation into account.)

So two changes. Small ones. You can do that, can’t you? I’m confident that you can! Totally and completely confident. And I know that you will be rewarded with blessings. A sense of accomplishment. Feeling better – both physically and about yourself in general. Some increased self-confidence. Get a walking buddy and watch your friendship blossom and grow. And you might just be blessed with a view like I had today.

Blessings,

Lynne

P.S. Should my next few posts seem crabby and snippy, remember: caffeine withdrawals. Just warning you. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

