Happy Friday, Y’all!

Happy Friday!

I hope your week has gone well! If not, it IS Friday, so the weekend is here and I hope you get some rest and relaxation in.

I haven’t posted about the 5-minute nightly walk through/pick up lately  or talked about leaving the kitchen sink empty at night. I have to tell you that I have never NOT wanted to do either of those things less than I have the last two nights. I just wanted to leave the dishes in the sink. Let the pillows on the couch be all out of place. Leave the TV remote out of its accustomed place. I just wanted to go to bed. I don’t remember why Wednesday night was like that. Last night, I went into work and didn’t get home until almost 9:00. Left my cell phone there. So I was just aggravated. Still, both nights I put away the dishes, straightened the pillows, put the remote in its place. And in the morning, I was really glad. I hate waking up to clutter! So I’ve gotten up both mornings to a relatively straight downstairs and taken my coffee and my Bible and enjoyed sitting on the back deck in the early morning quiet.

If you missed the post about the nightly walk-through, it’s simply this: Take five minutes every night before you go to bed to walk through your living areas (for me, the living room and kitchen) and straighten up pillows, magazines, etc. And take the time to empty your sink of dishes if at all possible. That way, you wake up to order not messiness, and order is a much better way to start your day. 🙂

My friends Kathryn and Lynn sat down with me today and we looked at cookbooks, food magazines, websites, etc. for recipes. We talked a lot about food and the changes we are trying to make and the challenges to those changes. (Husbands…ahem!) I don’t know what they’ve come up with, but here is the menu plan I decided on for the coming week. 

  • Friday – Grilled London Broil (It’s been marinating since yesterday morning!), Crash Hot Potatoes, Broccoli, Homemade Yeast Rolls (if I get moving!)
  • Saturday – Chicken Enchiladas, Homemade Mexican Rice, Homemade Refried Beans
  • Sunday – Chicken Pot Pie and Veggie Pot Pie, Cinnamon Apples
  • Monday – White Bean, Kale & Carrot Soup, Cornbread
  • Tuesday – Leftovers
  • Wednesday – Homemade Sloppy Joes on Homemade Hamburger Buns, Parmesan Potato Wedges, Baked Beans
  • Thursday – Homemade Pizzas: Spinach Alfredo; Beef & Mushroom; Cheese

What’s on your agenda for the weekend? I have some furniture rearranging to do to make way for the freezer I am (FINALLY!) getting. I hope I can enlist some help from my dear sweet daughter. (AHEM!!) 

Y’all have a blessed weekend!

Lynne

 

Leave a Reply

