Welcome, 2014!

  • We spend January 1 walking through our lives, room by room, drawing up a list of work to be done, cracks to be patched. Maybe this year, to balance the list, we ought to walk through the rooms of our lives… not looking for flaws, but for potential. ~ Ellen Goodman

Happy New Year!

Here it is…2014. Another new year. Another new start. A chance to try new things and experience new adventures. To grow your faith and your relationships. To get fit and healthy. The possibilities are endless.

So what is it that you want to do in 2014? Where do you want to be on December 31st? In yesterday’s post, I asked you to put on your thinking caps and start focusing on what you want to accomplish this year. The categories were these:

* faith/walk with God;
* marriage;
* family relationships;
* friendships;
* health/fitness;
* household management.

So what I want you to do now is to get six pieces of paper. Yes, six. At the top of each page, write one of these categories. Then list everything you can think of that would be a positive change in that category. For example, under “Faith/Walk with God,” you might list: establish daily quiet time, keep a prayer journal, join a Bible study, etc. You can list as many – or as few – things as you like. We’ll use our lists to set some goals for the year. We might add a new category or two later, but for now, these are the ones we’ll work with. (In fact, I’ve already thought of a couple, but I’ll save them for later. Don’t want to overwhelm everyone!) We’ll get to goal setting on Monday. Goals…not resolutions. Goals are things to work toward. Resolutions are things to break and feel bad about. That’s my take on it, anyway.

So what did you do today, this first day of 2014? I started my day with a hike at our local state park with my buddy Kathryn. It was cold and the hike had to be cut short because part of the trail is still flooded from the rain we got Sunday. (We got a LOT of rain Sunday morning!) We figured that was a good way to start the new year.

Aiken State Park sign

 

Here we are all bundled up and still cold. My toes were numb! It was nice to get back in the car and blast the heater for a few minutes! 🙂

As you can see, I have changed the blog name to “Living Simply” because – besides not having the year in it – that is my overall goal: to live more simply. As I packed up the Christmas decorations yesterday, I was overwhelmed with how much work it was and while I didn’t get rid of much, a few things did NOT make it back into the Christmas storage boxes. Then I started looking around the house and taking a little mental inventory of all the “stuff” and decided that I/we definitely have more than we need – and more than I want to tend to. So, let the simplifying begin!  Again!

Right now, I’m thinking a nice hot bath is in order. Y’all have a great night!

Lynne

Leave a Reply

