Let’s Get It Started: Weekly Challenge #1

Happy (cold, cold, cold) Monday!

I hope you’ve had a great Monday! Here in Aiken, SC, it has steadily gotten colder and colder. We’re not used to this stuff! I ran to the grocery store to pick up some medicine, and you’d think we were expecting to be powerless and potentially food-less this week. My husband got the last gallon of milk…not because we were afraid of ice, etc., but because we were actually out. Oh, well. I was happy to get out of the madhouse.

As I pondered over a challenge for this week, I had trouble deciding what to do. So instead of one BIG challenge (those are coming!), I’m offering a couple of small ones instead. First, I want you to get a jar of some sort – a large Mason jar will do – make a label for it: Thankful Jar; Gratitude Jar; Moments of Gratitude; Thankful Moments…whatever you want to call it. Then, when something good happens – big  or small – or a prayer is answered, write it on a little slip of paper (include the date) and put it in the jar. On New Year’s Eve, you can take all your slips out and read over them and see the year’s blessings.

Also, have you seen the 52 Week Money/Savings Challenge yet? It’s been all over Facebook and the internet. Here’s the chart I’m using. You can use another Mason jar (those things are handy!) or an envelope,a lock box. Whatever. You can put it in the bank if you want. I started to do it last year, and never got around to it. But I’m going to try again. 🙂  Just check each week off as you go and by the end of the year you’ll have $1,378! Wow! I have also been told that you can start from week 52 and work your way backwards. Then you aren’t putting in larger amounts at the end of the year around Christmas time. Just a thought.

 

And lastly, find a Bible study that you can do so that you can spend time daily in God’s word. Right now, I am studying Women Living Well by Courtney Joseph. This morning, I wrote a list of things I admire about my husband and gave it to him. I hope it encouraged him! If you can find a couple of friends to be accountability partners for you, that’s all the better!

There you have it. Three little challenges. And you can continue to clean and organize a drawer a day until all the drawers in your house are done. 🙂

Stay warm!!

Blessings,

Lynne

Leave a Reply

