Recipe Share Wednesday: Vegan Bean Soup (and a non-vegan option)

It’s been exceptionally cold around here (for us, anyway) and when it’s cold, there’s nothing like a nice, hot bowl of soup to get you warmed up. Here’s the one I made on Monday of this week. It was a new recipe and I will be making it again! 🙂

Adapted from a recipe found on http://www.allrecipes.com

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 medium onion, finely diced
  • 2 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (I used jarred minced garlic.)
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • a pinch of black pepper (I did freshly ground pepper – just a few twists of the grinder)
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 (15 oz.) cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 (15 oz.) cans white beans (Great Norther or canellini), drained
  • 1 (15 oz.) can whole kernel corn, drained
  • 1 (28 oz.) can whole tomatoes, undrained (I poured them in a bowl and “squished” them with my hands until they were more like diced tomatoes, so you could just use diced tomatoes. I used what I had because I was NOT going back out into the cold unnecessarily!)

Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat; saute’ onion and carrots for about 5 minutes. Add garlic and continue to saute’ for another minute or so. Sprinkle chili powder, cumin and pepper over veggies and stir together well. Add broth, beans, corn and tomatoes. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Serve with hot, buttery cornbread. Yum!

Note #1: I do believe that you could saute’ the veggies and then pour everything into the crock pot and it would turn out just fine. I plan to do that the next time I make this.

Note #2: My vegetarian daughter said she would have preferred all white beans and no black beans. You could also use pinto or kidney beans and call it “chili.”

Note #3: You could add in 1/2 pound browned ground beef for those who might not be satisfied with  the meatless dish. My husband liked it just fine without meat, however, so that’s saying something. 🙂

It “thickened up” and was more stew-like the next day. I tend to like soups and stews the second day, and this was no exception.

Vegan Bean Soup

Vegan Bean Soup

Leave a Reply

