Tuesday: Health & Fitness Day

Happy Tuesday!

So, I’ve decided to set aside Tuesday as health and fitness day. My first – and biggest – disclaimer: I am NOT an expert in the area of health or fitness. No way, no how, no sir. However, I am very, very interested in the subject. Being more fit and healthy is one of my major goals for 2014. I feel like I made great strides in this area in 2013, but I’m still not where I want to be. Not by a long shot. There are pounds and inches to lose and fitness goals to be reached.

I have been reading. A lot. A LOT. I know way more about food and where it comes from and how much it’s processed than I ever wanted to know. Ever wish you could un-know something? Yeah. I’m there. So I’ve been cutting processed foods from my diet, reducing my meat consumption, buying more organic and natural foods. I had a garden last summer and plan to expand it this year. I’ve taken up running and yoga. So I’m making progress, but as I said, still have a ways to go.

So my next big move is to try the Daniel Plan (www.danielplan.com) from Rick Warren and Co. based on the diet chosen by Daniel from the Bible. Which means cutting out processed foods. Eating more fruits and veggies. Drinking more water. It’s a 40-day challenge and comes with menus and – most importantly – accountability. But the kicker is the 10-day detox (recommended, not required) that you do first. I decided that if I’m going to do this, I’m going all in. And this means (insert dramatic music here)…no caffeine for ten days. Yes, that’s right. No caffeine. As in, no coffee for me. Have mercy! I love my coffee! Y’all know that by now. I’m just giving you fair warning so that if I write a weirdly snippy post over the next couple of weeks you won’t be offended. šŸ™‚

I’ve set some fitness goals for the year and I invite you (encourage you!) to do the same. Don’t set too many or any that are unreasonable. You want to set yourself up for success not disappointment. Here are mine:

1. Run the Cooper River Bridge Run in April (a 10K). Walked it last year, so I’d like to run it this time.

2. Run/walk 500 miles over the course of the year. Last year, I made it to right at 460 miles so this is not a huge jump. (I might increase my goal after I see where I am in a few months.)

3. Lose two clothes sizes. I’m not setting a pound goal (though I will admit that I have one in mind), but I know I’d feel good going down two jeans sizes so that’s what I’m aiming for.

4. Keep my cholesterol where it needs to be without medication. It was 265 and I took meds for a while. However, when I started exercising more, I stopped my meds and at last check, my cholesterol was below 160. My goal is to keep it that way!

5. To eliminate processed foods from my diet as much as it depends on me and what I have control over. I am in charge of what comes into my house (for the most part), so that’s where I’ll start. I’ll eat more fruits and veggies and make things from scratch as often as possible.

I think that five goals is a good number. I’m not sure why I think that, but I do. I’d love to hear from you what some of your goals are.

I know this is a late post, so sleep well!

Blessings,

Lynne

Leave a Reply

