Thursday Thoughts

Good evening, all!

So, it looks like Thursdays will be the day for faith, family and relationships. To me, these are all very much intertwined in my life. Some of my most important relationships were forged through church-related activities. I love my HOME group (small group) at church! I love the ladies in my group especially and enjoy spending time with them. I enjoy my ladies’ Bible study with my immensely. My besties are church friends…and some of them go way (way!) back.

Friendships are very important! Neglecting your friendships and trying to get through life on your own just isn’t fun. In the craziness and busyness of everyday life, we can let friendships fall to the wayside, so we have to be intentional in maintaining them. A phone call, a text, an email, a card…any of these are great ways to let someone know you’re thinking about them. But better yet, find some time to spend together. A few of my friends and I have been doing a Bible study together for the last couple of months. Not only do we get to study the Bible together, but we get to just spend time together and that is like “icing on the cake.” Sometimes (like today) Bible study spills over to lunch – and I’m okay with that.  (Thanks for lunch, April!)  The ladies in my HOME group get together one night a month for a girls’ night out – no hubbies, no kids. When you are able to do these kinds of things, you have the opportunity to build real friendships, not surface-only acquaintances. And you NEED these friends. Because at some point, you’re going to have a problem that you can’t get through on your own. And while you have your hubby and family, sometimes you just need your girlfriends. (Or guy friends, if you happen to be a guy reading this.)

Here’s a little challenge for you.Think of a good friend that you haven’t been able to see for a while and get in touch. Set up a lunch (or any meal) date. Get together for a cup of coffee. Meet up and take a walk. Just make sure she knows you’re thinking about her and that you haven’t forgotten her. 🙂  It will be good for both of you!

Have a good night! Stay warm and sleep well!

Lynne

Leave a Reply

