Waiting on Wintery Mix…again!

Hi, everyone!

For those of you somewhere warm, I’m totally jealous right now! For those of you where it’s colder than it is here, I’m sorry. Let’s all meet in a sunny warm location ASAP. I’m sitting here with my nephew (who’s watching some weird cartoon show), enjoying a cup of coffee and waiting on our next round of winter weather to arrive….sleet and ice expected, with some snow mixed in there. There’s a pot of baked potato soup simmering on the stove top. We have a small stash of firewood. We have bread and milk. I guess we’re set. Praying that we do not end up without power. And that my neighbor’s really, really tall pine tree doesn’t get weighted down with ice and fall in our direction. Praying that everyone stays home and off the roads. Really people. Stay. Home.

Today I’m grateful that I have a home to keep me safe and warm during this cold weather. Even if we lose power, we still have a roof over our heads and blankets. Lots of blankets. We have food and water. There are many people in the world – in our little neck of the woods, even – who don’t have that. I tend to take it for granted and I shouldn’t. I’m working on my attitude of gratitude. So many things in my day-to-day life I take for granted and just assume they’ll always be there. My home. My health. A little money in the bank. And it could change in the blink of an eye. So my challenge to you today is to make a list of the first ten things that come to mind when you hear the question: What are you grateful for?

Here are mine:

1. My family (even when they aggravate me)

2. Health (and the will to try and stay healthy)

3. Home (not a big one, but it’s warm and cozy)

4. Security (trusting that my husband is willing to do what it takes to take care of our family)

5. Friends (to laugh with and to go through the tough times with)

6. Car (so I don’t have to walk everywhere)

7. Food (so that we don’t go to bed hungry)

8. Church (for my church family and for my job!)

9. Pets (who love unconditionally…as long as you feed them)

10. Having 1st world problems (because it means I don’t live in a third world country)

There are many more things, but those are the ones I came up with sitting here. Coffee isn’t on the list, but you know it goes with all of them above. 🙂 In my book, anyway.

Take some time today to think about all that you have to be grateful for. Even in life’s difficult circumstances, we should be able to find something to be grateful for. I always try to remember that no matter what I’m facing, there’s someone, somewhere who’s facing something even more difficult. (I sometimes remember this AFTER a situation, but still…I try.) Then take a few minutes to pray for those who are less fortunate than you. 

So hug your hubby. Hug you kiddos. Tell your loved ones that you love them. Stay warm. And if you’re in the south, stay warm and stay home. 🙂

Lynne

Leave a Reply

