Monday, Monday….(singing the Mamas & the Papas) :)

Hello, everyone!

I hope you had a good week last week and a wonderful weekend! We’re still kinda puny around here. Coughing continues and the hubs apparently has some kind of stomach thing. Hate to say that I hope it was a touch of food poisoning, but I’d prefer that to the thought of a virus running through the ranks. Ugh! I’ll keep my cough, thank you very much.

Needless to say, I’m not overly excited to start a big project today. But I have spent some time working up my menu plan for the week. I planned three meals a day trying to use as much stuff as I have on hand. My menu sounds pretty good and my grocery list is pretty short. I like it.

Here are some of the meals on my plan for the week (not counting today). I don’t have anything planned for tomorrow night because it’s hubby’s 50th birthday and he gets to choose. Depending on how he feels, we may go out. If not, we’ll scrounge up something.

Tuesday:

  • Breakfast – Stuffed French Toast
  • Lunch – Roasted Cauliflower & White Cheddar Soup
  • Dinner: Hubby’s Choice

Wednesday:

  • Breakfast – Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal
  • Lunch – Broccoli Frittata, fruit & yogurt
  • Dinner – “Chickless” Pot Pie or Chicken Pot Pie (both options), roasted sweet potatoes, veggie fritters

Thursday:

  • Breakfast – Breakfast Casserole Bites
  • Lunch – Leftovers
  • Dinner – Lasagna, Salad, Homemade Dinner Rolls

Friday:

  • Breakfast – Blueberry Muffins
  • Lunch – Homemade Pimento Cheese sandwiches, zucchini chips
  • Dinner – Crock Pot Chicken Enchilada Soup, Baked Chimichangas

Saturday:

Breakfast – Breakfast Skillet w/ Potatoes & Canadian Bacon
Lunch – Quinoa, Zucchini & Sun-dried Tomato Frittata
Dinner – French Dip Sandwiches on homemade rolls, Crash Hot Potatoes, Fruit & Yogurt Parfaits

Sunday:

  • Breakfast -Leftovers
  • Lunch – Leftovers
  • Dinner – Baked Teriyaki Chicken, Quick & Easy Vegetable Fried Rice

As you can see, Sundays have to be pretty easy as it’s my busiest day of the week. My plan is to spend some time tomorrow prepping what I can ahead of time. I also have to do my least favorite thing – go to the grocery store.

If you’re new to menu planning, here’s a post I wrote last January called “Menu Planning 101.” Start with a day or two, then a week. Maybe you’ll get up to a month at a time. Please know that I love to plan but life doesn’t always allow for the plan to be carried out exactly. But it’s always good to have a plan! THIS IS YOUR WEEKLY CHALLENGE: PLAN A MENU! Just plan breakfasts. Just plan lunches. Just plan dinners. Plan it all. It’s up to you. The challenge is to plan.

~ Lynne

“You must learn a new way to think before you can master a new way to be.” ~ Marianne Williamson

Today, I am blogging about one of my favorite things: menu planning. Yes, I know that probably makes me weird, but I love planning. And cookbooks. So menu planning for me is fun. Throw in a new recipe and it’s downright exciting!

First, let me ask you a few questions. How often have you found yourself staring into the refrigerator at 5:00 in the afternoon hoping that something will magically appear for dinner? How often do you forego cooking at home for eating out? How often does the pizza delivery guy visit your house? Does he know you by name? (I see him zipping through my neighborhood quite frequently.) Do you know the meal deal numbers at the fast food places by heart? Do you know which night is kids’ night at every restaurant in town?

I am here to tell you that with a little planning – really, just a little! – you can enjoy dinners at home with your family on most nights. In about the same time it takes you to wait and then eat (and then PAY) at a restaurant, you could eat a nice, home-cooked meal. And YOU get the pats on the back and praise! Now that’s a good feeling! For example, one of my favorite dining out foods is the chicken marsala at Carrabba’s. Now, I can’t afford to go have that just any old time…it’s $50 for two of us to eat dinner there – and there are very rarely just two of us. But I can make it at home, feed 4-6 people depending on the night, WITH a side of garlic mashed potatoes, AND homemade bread, AND a salad…for about $20, certainly less than $25. Our family saves eating out for special occasions…birthdays (you get to choose the restaurant), anniversaries, milestones, etc. Occasionally, we go just because we can, but that is rare.

So here is what I do. I’m going to include pictures because I like visual aids.

1. Gather your materials: calendar, paper, pen/pencil, highlighter, sticky notes, cookbooks or magazines, printed recipes (Notice I have three magazines here. Those are the three I am using this month. I don’t want to be looking through ten different magazines. No need to confuse myself.)

calendar, schedules, pen, paper, cooking magazines

calendar, schedules, pen, paper, cooking magazines

2. On my calendar, I highlight the days and nights my husband is working. I plan meals and leftovers according to his work schedule. I don’t serve Monday night’s leftovers on Tuesday night if he took them for lunch, for example. I use my slow cooker most Sundays and Mondays because those are my busiest days. I am a greeter at church and have my small group meeting two Sundays per month (the same Sunday because that makes my scheduling easier) and I volunteer at church during the day on Mondays. Thus, I use my beloved slow cooker (sometimes both of them as I did on Monday).

Calendar with hubby's work days highlighted (this one is filled out already)

I do not know why this is upside down. It’s not that way in my picture file. Hmm….strange!

NOTE: If you do not own a slow cooker (Crock Pot), go out right now and get one. Like, right this very minute! This is your “best friend” in the kitchen. Best.

3. Go through your magazines, cookbooks, or search websites for recipes you want to use. As I said, I look for slow cooker meals for Sundays and Mondays. Whatever your busiest day is (or your busiest days are), use the slow cooker. On your paper, write down the days of the week and then fill in with meal plans. If you are using a recipe, note where it’s found and what page.

Each day's menu planned out and on paper

4. Write this menu on a pretty menu planner (or just use this list) and post it where your beloved family members can see it. They will still ask you what’s for dinner, but once they know it’s posted, you can give them the evil eye when they ask. Eventually, they’ll figure it out. Maybe.

The menu plan posted on the fridge

The menu plan posted on the fridge

5. Prepare ye the grocery list. Using the recipes and plan, make out your grocery list for the week. I try to build my menu around what I have on hand as much as possible.

6. Do your best to sweet talk someone else into going grocer shopping for you. If that doesn’t work, trudge on up there yourself. TAKE the grocery list with you. Speaking from experience, you won’t buy what’s on the list if you don’t have it. Which means you can’t make what’s on your menu. You worked hard (ahem!) on that menu and you want to follow it.

7. If there are things that can be done ahead of time (browning ground beef, chopping veggies, etc.), go ahead and do that the night before you’ll be having the meal. There are lots of time-saving tricks and we will be talking about them soon.

8. Prepare your meals and enjoy the smiles and love from your family. If you never, ever cook at home, start with 3-4 meals. Work up to 5-6. I always plan at least one night for leftovers – it’s called the “Leftover Buffet.” Remember that you will also save money by taking or sending leftovers to work for lunches.

Things to Remember

  • Things come up and you can’t follow the menu exactly. It’s okay. The world will not come to an end. Things happen. Be flexible. You’ll still feel better with a plan.
  • Prepare what you can ahead of time. (More on this to come.)
  • Clean as you go. Wash the pots or fill the dishwasher or whatever. Then you don’t have to clean after. It’s much better this way. I promise.
  • A few minutes of planning will save you a lot of minutes of stressing!

Happy Eating!

Lynne

Leave a Reply

