Recipe Share Wednesday: Tomato Pie

Hey, y’all!

Just popping in for a minute today to share a recipe with you. Now, I am not a huge tomato fan. I don’t eat tomato sandwiches, BLT’s or the like. I do love me some fried green tomatoes, though. In fact, I have a nice green tomato sitting on the kitchen counter waiting to be fried tonight.

I do, however, like this tomato pie. I slice my tomatoes thin and let them drain in a colander over a bowl for a few minutes to reduce the possibility of “mushiness.” Not a fan of mushiness. Just so you know. But it’s tomato season and everything tastes better when it’s in season. So cook this up an enjoy! 🙂

Lynne

P.S. I have no idea where I got this recipe from. Sorry!

Tomato Pie

  • 1 cup Grated mozzarella cheese
  • 1 9-inch deep dish pie crust prebaked
  • 1/2 cup green onioni diced
  • 10 basil leaves chopped
  • 4 tomatoes peeled and sliced
  • 1 cup cheddar cheese grated
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Blanch tomatoes and slice; drain well in colander.

Mix mayonnaise, cheeses, and salt and pepper.

Layer tomato slices, basil, and onion in pie shell.

Season with additional salt and pepper if desired.

Spread mayonnaise mixture over top.

Bake for 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

