Slow Cooker Monday: Greek Chicken Pitas

Good morning!

And Happy September! September! What? How did that happen? I’m not even going to tell you how many days it is until Christmas. (I don’t actually know, but there a lot fewer than there ought to be!)

I use my slow cooker on Mondays because it’s a work day for me. And even though I’m not working today, we are going to my parents’ for a cookout at lunch so I’m slow cooking anyway so I don’t have to do a lot when I get home this afternoon. This recipe is one I discovered a few months ago and it is so yummy! For those of you who are interested in eating whole foods, I found 3 ingredient whole wheat pitas at Fresh Market – and they are delicious.

Anyway, here’s what’s cooking today.

 

Crock Pot Greek Chicken Pitas

Source: www.stacymakescents.com

Servings: 6-8 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup sliced onion
  • 1 pound boneless, chicken thighs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons lemon pepper seasoning
  • 1 garlic clove minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Pita Bread
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • Chopped tomato

Directions

  1. Lay chicken in the bottom of a greased crock.
  2. Place onions on top and sprinkle garlic over everything.
  3. Mix spices together and sprinkle over top.
  4. Place lid on and cook on LOW for 6-8 hours.
  5. When chicken is done, remove it from the crock and shred it with two forks.
  6. While chicken is out of the crock, stir in sour cream. Add chicken back to crock and stir well.
  7. Ladle chicken onto warm pita bread, using it as a taco. Sprinkle with tomato. Fold over and serve.

I also put fresh spinach on mine. Yummy!

I’m off to walk with my sweetie, so I’ll post the risotto recipe that we’re having as a side when I get back.

Y’all have a safe and happy holiday! If you have to work, I’m sorry. 😦

Blessings,

Lynne

One thought on “Slow Cooker Monday: Greek Chicken Pitas

Leave a Reply

