Budget/Cooking Tip: Making Your Own Broth

We had our first Thanksgiving feast yesterday. I threw the turkey carcass in the crock pot with an onion, some carrots and bay leaves and cooked on low overnight. I now have ten cups of stock/broth saved in 2-cup portions, frozen flat. πŸ™‚

I will use instead of boxed chicken or turkey broth. And I can make my boy child some dressing which he loves without having to cook a turkey (which he does not love). πŸ™‚

I cooked this turkey with butter under the skin so it’s some rich broth. πŸ™‚

Lynne

Leave a Reply

