I’m still here….really, I am! And…the importance of resting!

I’m still here. Really, I am!

Here’s a great article from Becoming Minimalist on the importance of rest. I thing Sunday afternoon naps are great! The one I had this afternoon wasn’t too bad either. 🙂

http://www.becomingminimalist.com/resting/

Do you get enough rest? Whether it’s sleeping enough hours at night (no, I don’t think two hours is enough) or setting aside time daily or weekly for some quiet, restful time is so important – for our physical AND mental health. And I have found that you can’t make up for LOST rest by sleeping late one day or taking a long nap on Sunday afternoon. You have to add rest daily if at all possible.

I hope that you’ll try and work some rest into your days…a little at a time. Even five minutes of quiet in the middle of a hectic day can be beneficial. (This is my completely non-professional opinion.) With little ones, it’s hard. I remember. I used to hide in the bathroom with the fan on when my hubby got home. Sat on the edge of the tub and took some deep, soothing breaths. 🙂 I still do that sometimes. It’s a great hiding place, but you do need someone to distract little ones because they do not care why you are in the bathroom; they just NEED to be there with you.

Once my kids got old enough to fend for themselves for a while, my Sunday afternoon nap because sacred. That day of rest became real. Now that I work at church on Sunday mornings, that nap is a necessity. For. Real.

So whether it’s a five-minute reprieve sitting on the edge of the tub, an afternoon nap, or – most importantly – getting enough sleep at night on a regular basis, do it for yourself. You deserve it. Do it for those around you. I know I can be scary when I get overtired. Surely I’m not the only one.

So I’m off to Alabama for the weekend for a visit with extended family. Since I worked out at the gym today and focused on my arms, I might actually have to let my son drive. (Insert frightened face on Mom here.) Yikes!

Have a safe and restful weekend!

Lynne 🙂

Leave a Reply

