Schedules Are Freeing…Truth!

MONDAYS! (insert teary face here)

Alarm clocks. Grr. Early appointments. Grr. However, this could apply to any day, not just Monday. As I try to get back “into the groove” where I’m managing my days and they aren’t managing me, I’m back to setting an earlier alarm. I’m also trying my best to put the book away and turn the lamp off no later than 10:00. That’s really hard for me…but, I’m trying.

Normally, I work go in to work on Monday mornings. However, I had some figs that needed to be turned into fig preserves, so I worked this afternoon instead. This is flexibility. Everything still got done, just not in the usual order. 🙂

Here’s my typical week day plan. I’m putting it IN WRITING so that maybe it will stick. Maybe it’s age, but I’ve not been doing this and I’ve been out of sorts. And maybe not very nice. To people. In my house. Sometimes.

5:45 – Rise and try to shine; make bed; have coffee – begin to show a little glimmer of shine

6:00 – 6:30 – Bible study/quiet time (and more coffee)

6:30 – Laundry into washer; go for walk or run (very shiny now!)

7:30 – Laundry onto clothesline or into dryer; shower (much needed at this point!)

8:00 – Breakfast/lay out dinner or put in crock pot

9:00 – Work (Mondays in the office; Tuesday – Thursday – from home)/blog

I try to get as much done by 2:00 as possible. I’m really not much good to anyone after that. That’s when I usually sit down and have my coffee and read for a bit.

Monday nights are for Bible study with my girlfriends.

Tuesday – Friday, I will go to the gym, meet with my personal trainer twice a week, do my work from home, work on my blog (here’s where I’ve been a slacker!), menu plan and grocery shop, and have household chores for each day. This get spread throughout the week so they don’t have to be done on the weekend.

While I try to squeeze in a little quiet/rest time every afternoon,
Saturday is my real day of rest. Since I work on Sundays and have HOME group (small group) in the afternoon, it’s not a very restful day.

All of this is not to say that I have it all together. I just know that I function better with a general plan for how my day will go. I’m flexible. I’m available if someone needs me or just wants to share that afternoon coffee.

I started the early morning rising when the kids were young and we were homeschooling. Early morning was the only time I could squeeze in for myself. When I can be outside during that time, it’s all the better.

Crazy days still happen. They’ll always happen. If you never have a crazy day, raise your hand. (Are your pants on fire??) Just like God gives us boundaries in which we can live freely and blessed, setting boundaries for yourself lets you do that in your day-to-day life.

So it’s now 5:00 and I’ve done this post. I’m off to make dinner and then head to Bible study. I started a new book today, but I’ll try and have “lights out” by 10:00!

Y’all have a great week!

Lynne

P.S. Sharing the household chore schedule tomorrow. 🙂 I’m sure you’re excited!

Leave a Reply

