This Week’s Menu Plan

Okay…working on dinner menu plans for the month of August. Yes…August. As in, tomorrow is August 1. I’m going back to my themed nights because it’s just easier for me. Here’s what I’ve come up with so far:

– Slow Cooker Sundays – work day for me
– Manic Mondays (casserole or something super simple) – work day for me
– Taco Tuesday (Mexican of some sort)
– “What’s New?” Wednesdays (trying new recipes)
– Throwback Thursday (Leftovers)
– Fab Fridays (Homemade Pizza or Chicken Strips)
– Soup and/or Sandwich Saturdays

Here’s my menu plan for this week.

Sunday – Slow Cooker Bacon Ranch Chicken & Pasta; Side Salad

Monday – Homemade Chicken Salad (sandwiches or w/crackers); Fresh Fruit Salad with Honey Vanilla Yogurt

Tuesday – Slow Cooker Flank Steak Fajitas; Homemade Refried Beans; Homemade Mexican Rice

Wednesday – Almond Crusted Pork Tenderloin (new recipe); Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes; Roasted Carrots

Thursday –  Leftovers (YAY!)

Friday –  Top Your Own Homemade Pizza; Homemade Ice Cream/Sundaes

Saturday – Baked Potato Soup; Homemade French Baguettes

I’ve got most of the rest of August planned out. Gotta “flesh” it out with sides and such. And I need to do a pantry and freezer inventory to see what I have on hand that I need to get through.

Planning took about an hour (maybe 1 1/2 hours because I kept getting interrupted…surely that never happens to you!) 🙂 This week’s menu is mostly based on what meats I have already. I’ll have to buy some fresh fruit, salad stuff, Russet potatoes, and the flank steak for Tuesday. I think that’s all. Oh, and heavy cream for the homemade ice cream. YUM! Must not forget that. It’s probably the most important menu item of the week!

Any of the recipes listed as “homemade” are relatively simple and very tasty. The last time I made Mexican, I served canned refried beans. Hubby was disappointed. He really likes those homemade ones.

Also keep in mind that I feed 4-6 adults dinner AND that we eat leftovers for lunches. Anything still hanging out in the fridge on Thursday night becomes part of the “Leftover Buffet.” They can just pretend they’re at Golden Corral and mix it all up if they want. Anything that makes it to Monday gets tossed.

When you have leftovers in your fridge, it helps to have a designated spot for them. And – if you think of it (I don’t always) – label them with the date prepared. Keeping masking tape and a Sharpie handy helps with this. (Note to self: Get more masking tape.)

Now…on to the planning of the week ahead. The hardest part is done! 🙂

Lynne

Leave a Reply

